How to compile the firmware?

Hi, im new at blinkstick it’s realy a cool thing to control yout RGB-LEDs with your PC ;).
After some reading I found the firmware for the attiny 85 so i downloaded it and build a blinkstick :smiley: ,
now i have a big question how do I compile the programm to hex-file ? :weary:
I read more but i doesn’t find a tutorial :pensive: so i need urgent help with wich programm I compile it.
About me: I already did some project with atmel chips and bascom programming ( i know it’s not optimal but im only 17 :smile:)

So pleas help

Tank you in advance

SteffenCAD

Do you have an AVR programmer like USBTinyISP or an Arduino? In order to compile you need AVR toolchain which you can download from the internet. Once you have AVR toolchain installed, all you need to do is run the following commands:

make clean hex
make deploy

And that should compile and upload firmware to ATTiny85 chip. If you are using a programmer different to USBTinyISP, you will have to update makefile with the programmer you are going to use.

OK I downloaded Atmelstudio 6.2 and the toolchain, I installed the toolchain and set it to standart. Now I opend the main.ccp and tried to build solution but it doesn’t work ? I do not have much experience in Atmel Studio. Can you help me plese ? :fearful: or can you send me a finished file ?

Thx

SteffenCAD

Which firmware do you need?

• BlinkStick
  • BlinkStick Pro
  • BlinkStick Square
  • Blinkstick Strip

I need the firmware from blinkstick :smiley: .
It would be grate

Thx

SteffenCAD

I have made a small PCB and I will use it as blinkstick strip with a ws2812 module with 8 leds. I have flashed the attiny85 with the blinkstick pro firmware. Is there a different firmware for blinkstick strip? What are the differences? Where could I find and download all the firmwares?

@steffencad Do you need firmware for basic LED or WS2812?