Accessing all WS2812b LEDs at once

Hi ‘guys’

Im using Visual studio and want to build a project in C#. I have no programming experience at all BTW so talk to me like an absolute noob. I want to address all the LEDs (NeoPixel/WS2812b) at the same time. I have managed to do this very easily with python. Can you give me some tips or post some example code? Essentially i want several buttons in a GUI which when pressed will show that color. Sounds simple - My mind is blown with how complex this is. Im great with hardware - Programming is a little above me. So far in Visual Studio I have managed to access the blinkstick and display its serial number. I have a button that when clicked turns one Led red. My issue is that it only turns on one LED. I want to be able to access them all.

Any help will be kindly received

Glyn.

Hey Glyn,

are you using HidLibrary with C# to control the device?
Your HidStream has the SetFeature method.
Take a look at this:
SetFeature(new byte[2] {0x04, M});
M is the mode. You have to set it to Mode 2.
SetFeature(new byte[6] {0x05, 0x00,L, R,G,B});
L is for the LED you want to control, R,G,B for the colors.

Hope it helps a bit

To be honest i have no idea what you have just said lol. Im trying to start again from scratch. I have downloaded Blinkstickdotnet - master and opened the file blinkstickdonet in visual studio. What exactly need to do to get all colours light up? Or should i open examples?

For Blinstickdotnet the IndexedColor Example should help.

Perfect - So that does what i want. Now how would i make only that happen when a button is pressed?

Hey,

I´ve changed the example to a WinForm with a button. You can download it here:

It´s is very dirty, I don´t have time for more at the moment.

But now I think you need to practice C# first… It is essential to use Blinkstick and it´s librarys this way.

Good luck :smile: